Rally NSW Championship




Guest Speaker Announced for 2022 Rally NSW Season Launch Event

Lewis Bates will be the guest speaker at the 2022 Rally NSW Season Launch Event on the evening of the 19th of February. The Season Launch will follow the Test and Shakedown Day being held within Macquarie Woods Recreation Area in Vittoria State Forest, 30 kilometres west of Bathurst.

The Rally NSW Season Launch will be held at the Bathurst Light Car Club Rooms on Conrod straight in Bathurst for finger food and refreshments at the bar. This will be the first occasion the NSW rally community has had to get together in a social setting for over a year.

Lewis Bates, who drives for the Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia Team, will speak at the event and share his insights into rallying and motorsport.

The event will also be used to launch the NSW Rally Championship, NSW Clubman Rally Series, NSW Hyundai Rally Series, the East Coast Classic Rally Series and the new S1 Rallysprint Series.

The NSW Rally Panel extends an invitation to anyone interested in rallying in NSW to attend this free event. To reserve a place, send an email to [email protected]. Spaces are limited due to Covid venue restrictions, so get in early to avoid disappointment.


For additional information - Rally NSW Media Contacts:
John McCredie 0413 042 763 [email protected]
Ian Bray 0419 518 610 [email protected]




Former Australian Rally Champion Nathan Quinn in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution has won the opening round of the NSW Rally Championship by the smallest of margin, just 4.7 seconds. Quinn won both heats of the rally and dedicated the win to his co-driver, Ray Winwood-Smith, who was working off pace notes for the first time.

Quinn, from Coffs Harbour and Winwood-Smith from Bathurst, won four of the seven stages, but didn’t take the lead until Stage 5 where he took 12 seconds from then leader Clayton Hoy and Erin Kelly in another Lancer. Hoy and Kelly would suffer issues in Heat two, dashing their hopes of a podium position.

Richie Dalton and Dale Moscatt finished second outright and took away 42 points towards the Championship. The Sydney based team were competing at their first event in the Australian Rally Championship winning Toyota Yaris AP4 from Neal Bates Motorsport. The second step on the podium was a great result for Dalton and Moscatt in a brand-new car for the team.      

Chris Higgs and Steve Fisher in an older Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 6 were third. The result was a repeat of their third placing at the same event last year and their consistency bodes well for the season ahead.

In the 2WD East Coast Classic Rally Series (ECCRS), Tom Dermody and Eoin Moynihan would take the top honours in their APX Suspension Mk2 Ford Escort RS1800. Dermody has been absent from the ECCRS for a few rounds and the roaring sound of the BDA engine was a welcome return to the Canberra forests.

Hoosier Tire Australia are giving away a set of tyres at each round of this year’s NSW Championship and ECCRS, and the first give-away was won by Tim and Michael Valantine. They put the Hoosiers to good use to secure second outright in the 2WD ECCRS.

“I’ve never won anything” Tim Valantine said. “How good is this, a brand new set of tyres!”

Mal Keough continued his winning streak from 2020 by winning the 4WD ECCRS in the Audi Quattro S1. He had a new co-driver in the passenger seat, Jacci Sharkey reading the notes and sharing her first win for the year.

The first round of the 2021 NSW Rally Championship began where the previous season finished, at the Netier National Capital Rally. The Canberra based event consisted of two stages in the Tidbinbilla forests to the west of Canberra and then six stages in the Kowen forests to the east. The Rally was a mix of tight, twisty technical stages and more traditional open fast sections. It was also the first round of the Australian Rally Championship.

The next event on the NSW Rally Championship and ECCRS calendar will be the Bega Valley Rally, held over the June long weekend.



The Motor Traders’ Association of NSW (MTA NSW) has announced their continued support of the NSW Rally Championship in 2021
NSW Rally Panel Chairman, John Sparkes, said “This is fantastic news for rallying in NSW and allows us to continue on from the work we began in 2018. We have been able to significantly increase the promotion of our premier rally series whilst also providing a great opportunity to promote the MTA NSW through our exciting sport. We are thrilled to be able to extend the MTA NSW partnership”.

The first round of the NSW Rally Championship will be on the 10th of April, as it has been rescheduled due to the recent rainfall and floods in the coastal regions of NSW.

To reflect on 2020's season, click the video below to see all the action! 


The Australian Heavy Vehicle Repairers Association (AHVRA) represents the heavy vehicle accident repair industry at a national level.



Created by MTA NSW, the Employment Relations Information System (ERIS) is a web based interactive employment relations system.



Motor Trades Cares (MTC) provides access to free industry WHS and worker’s insurance information and topical publications, webinars, management system resources, including policies, procedures and supporting checklist and forms.


Green Stamp

Green Stamp is an environmental program that aims to help businesses achieve environmental compliance.


MTA Training

MTA Training delivers innovative and flexible, industry focused training and prides itself on producing quality outcomes.



The Service Station Association (SSA) is a division of MTA NSW representing businesses within the petroleum industry.

Spirit Super Capricorn Society Heart180 Commonwealth Bank Hi-Tec Oils Manildra Group Officeworks

Get in touch with us today! Call us on 02 9016 9000