MTA NSW Rally Championship 2019 Round 4 Rally of the Bay, Batemans Bay NSW 29 June

There were a few thrills and spills at the Rally of the Bay last weekend! 

The rally was running about an hour behind schedule due to a few incidents which blocked the stage. Sadly, the MTA NSW Rally Championship series leaders, Glen Raymond and Kate Catford, were out after an accident at the SS1, with the crew reported to have escaped unscathed. Tristan Kent running second in the MTA NSW Rally Championship was also out after an accident in Stage 3, with the crew also reported OK.

Richard Shimmon and Jim Gleeson took the win in the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 7 landing on a great time of 1.31. “Yeah unexpected after this morning but we are really stoked with that. We’re happy with our drive this arvo, Jim was great on the notes, the car has done its thing. So very happy we had a dig on that long stage but that was the one we wanted to have a go on and because we needed to after this morning. We are quite happy with this arvo,” said Shimmon.

Gavin Croker was second coming in at 1.42.  Tony Sullens and Kaylie Newell in the Citroen DS3 were rewarded for their hard work taking the two-wheel drive category and also quite surprised to take third outright in the MTA NSW Rally Championship series.

Relieved Sullens said, “That’s absolutely fantastic! I’ve been driving really really hard the last stage before this one on the limit as fast as I could go, so I’m glad that it’s getting rewarded!”

MTA NSW would like to congratulate all the Winners in Round 4 at the Rally of the Bay, Batemans Bay NSW. Goodluck to all competitors for Round 5 at the Bonalbo Rally, Bonalbo NSW on Saturday 20 July.


< Back

Spirit Super Capricorn Society Commonwealth Bank Heart180 Officeworks Alemlube

Get in touch with us today! Call us on 02 9016 9000